Board of Certified Public Accountants
A certificate holder whose certificate is on inactive or expired status must activate the certificate if he or she begins to provide accounting services from a Wyoming location or makes Wyoming their principal place of business.
If active status was previously held or the applicant was transitioned by the July 1, 2005 Act, he or she must complete the Application to Activate a Certificate form, pay the applicable fees, and document that at least 120 continuing professional education (CPE) credits have been completed during the three years prior to activation, including the required Board approved Wyoming regulatory and professional ethics course. See the Board’s website for approved courses and providers.
Inactive fees paid for the current year will be applied to the total active fee required.
Application to Activate a Certificate Information-
From Expired-$300+applicable certified notice fees
From Surrendered-$300+$25 Wall document
From Inactive Status-$210
Complete the Application to Activate a Certificate; and
Complete the Verification of Lawful Presence form and attach copies of the appropriate identification; and
Complete the CPE Program Attendance Record (page 2 of the application) and included copies of certificates of completion evidencing compliance with the Continuing Professional Education requirements listed in Chapter 5, Section 5 of Board Rules; and
If applying for activation within 120 days of the date of the license expiration, the applicant shall pay the applicable $150 CPE Extension Processing Fee and any CPE credits taken during the 120-day period will be credited to the previous calendar year.
Submit a copy of a certificate of completion evidencing completion of a Board approved Wyoming Ethics 4-credit course; and
Pay the applicable fee- see Current Licensing and Permit Fees
For the applicants’ convenience, the Board has made available two different means of submitting the application fee and the completed application.
Paying with a Credit Card: Use the “Make a Payment” link to submit the appropriate application fee. The completed application and Verification of Lawful Presence should then be submitted the same day by scanning and emailing it to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Paying with Check: Send the check (personal, business, and cashiers), payable to the Wyoming Board of CPAs along with the completed application, and Verification of Lawful Presence to the Board office at 325 West 18th Street, Suite 4, Cheyenne, WY 82002.
Application Submission Instructions
Application packets may be submitted electronically by email to email@example.com and paid by credit card using the Make A Payment link above; or
Application packets may be mailed to the Board office and must include a check.
Copies of certificates of completion can be uploaded to the individual dashboard on the OPAL system for courses taken during the current year. Any course certificate of completion that was not previously uploaded on the dashboard (or renewal) for prior years, please include a copy of the certificate of completion with the submission of the application.
*Holders are required to renew certificates (October-December) online by accessing their renewal on their online individual dashboard on the Online Portal for Application and Licensure (OPAL) system. We will send you a reminder on October 1st when the online renewal is available. *